ArcDreamer

Writer
INTP-A
Neurospicy
BI
Nov.6.1992
Cat person
Coffee&Sweets

LINKTREE

Instagram

TikTok

“The Summer Experience” pt3

“Yeah, it does have the full package of events.” – I sighed.

“But how on earth did they fire you?” – She asked.

“Well. Thing began with them noticing that I’m smart.” – I looked at her, doing ducky lips, wiggling my brows.

“Oh tha-at smart, huh?” – She giggles.

“Yeah, so they noticed that I do job well and I’m smart to handle more. So they started to ask if I wanted to have a position that is the sort of admin of admins, yet also the whole place management. And I said at first that it would be a cool idea, as long as the payment is higher, but at the same time – I would have more responsibilities. So answer ended with ‘Hmm, I am not sure’. But that did not end there. The two managers who handle the admins that are not admins, and camera people, and frankly – whole hierarchy, or rather who-what-where is fucked up in there so bad, I was not sure of what the fuck was what. So when the manager, that was deemed new manager came about and decided after a chat with everyone to select me, as the head of whatever, to be trained for a position higher – I was like ‘Well, okie’. But I was still not happy about not having contract, clear list of responsibilities and what-who-where-how-etc. So they kept saying – it’s going to be sorted.” – I rolled my eyes, then did the Italian hand gesture that translates to “wtf?”…

She snorted.

“Like, that sounds like they have so many issues, it is absolutely retarded. Like, why even bother with all of that? How did they manage the bloody place?” – She asks me.

“I have no bloody clue. There were people who did own job and someone else’s, as someone else had no interest of doing that job. I got told that some got their job because they slept with director, some others got it because they were his friend or someone related to a close friend. So it’s a shoddy friend-of-a-friend situation going on. And with that – the evaluation of skills was in shitter, so even if the person did nothing – the whole thing was upkept, because them lot DID have contracts. Unlike most of the rest of us. And I was very surprised at that.” – I grimaced, flapping hands.

“Well that’s fucked up.” – She replied.

“Absolutely. Yes. But that’s like – the shit I was looking at with question ‘why?’ endlessly in my head. But to them I was nobody, for they did not know my previous work experience, my achievements, knowledge, whatever – I was an alien to them over whom they threw their biased opinions and thought up some shitty story about me. That was quite insulting, really.” – I rolled my eyes. – “But then again. Dysfunctional work places, ei. So the managers decided to train me to this new position that they thought up. And one of the managers told me to think up the questions of what’s lacking or over all and he’d be disappointed if I did not ask any questions. So fine, I worked a few days in the training and sure as fuck I had questions about positions, work stuff, items, budget, planning, where we heading and all that blah-blah-blah. And I made like a 4 page thing that I sent into chat which had me and the two managers that trained me. I must add – that prior to the training they told me that director knows all about the plan, green lit it and we’re all good.” – I looked at her, as she gave me a nod of ‘aha’.

“Right.” – She added.

“So imagine my genuine surprise when I get my partial message in work chat sent in by director with question ‘who wrote this?’. Aha, then the next thing that he added was ‘whoever wrote this no longer works here’. And I did say that it was me, and I say that I thought to know things and all. But none of the two managers stepped in to defend me in the chat, nor did I say that it was their idea. But the next day, when I went to work – the damage got accumulated even more. It went further. All began blaming me for all the new shit that director pulled – starting with cutting off drinks and food for staff. Like, the hell? Then one of the managers told me that the other was dumb enough to send this letter of mine to director without any information prior, without any warning or explanation. Fantastic. And all this shitstorm was like madness. I was also accused of saying that I’ll fire the admin girls, there’s also some unrest and all. And I was like – hey, could you clarify the thing for the people? And one of the managers went like ‘sure’ and he asked these girls to be nice to me and help me get to know their jobs. Like – nothing about my training, nothing about what’s up. And to top it off – he said that most of what he, manager and another manager are to do here – should not be known to director. Like, how shady is shady, yo?”- I flail my hands.

“Jesus blimin’ christ… Whoa.” – She replies, as she grimaces.

“So that whole madness brings about another one – director decides to watch the footage of the work area, as he decides to check for fuck knows what. And that’s the day when me and that other guy that’s into me, supposedly, are to gave work time that’s same. And I get message from director accusing me of saying shit about human trafficking. And that I threatened to close him down with legal things, due to paperwork. Well, that I did say is fucked up and could be brought up to institutions – due to people not having contracts, being paid cash in hand and all in all it’s shady. But human trafficking? What? I was on a night shift and I was joking about whether to sell kidney or something – might make more money than sitting minimum wage out here. And similar jokes to that. But all of those are jokes from tired, night shift working human, who was there in night shifts for like 4-5 days straight? Hmmm. But director being on cocaine did a stupid thing of taking it seriously. Who am I to blame, huh?” – I look up at the sky, breathing out.

“Fucking hell girl. That sounds intense as fuck.” – She got her brows furrowed, as she shakes head, getting a bit of that drink in her. – “Christ. Fuck this.”

“Yeah. So, that’s how the shit went with work. And on the same night he, director, was like – ‘I’ma call police on you if you don’t get out right now. don’t you dare step foot in this place ever again’ and was on to threaten me legally. But thing is – even if he has video evidence, he ain’t got working contract. The only thing I signed there was the media release form. No NDAs no nothing. Just photos of me and my ID to top that off. That’s all they’ve got. And sure. I just asked for my payment. And the managers got eventually to tell me that – you’ll be paid when everyone is paid. Aka – end of month. Well, that’s that. But at home… Oooooh.” – I shook my head, as I looked her in the eyes. – “At home it was a new series of drama going on.”

“Oh my days girl, what was on in there?” – She looked concerned.

“So at home my friend was becoming more and more of a dramatic queen.” – I let out. – “So he was like ‘I’m not kicking you out, but I need to know your plans’ – and that to me sounds like kicking me out. As frankly – you’d word it differently if that were true. But he did not. And then those words of ‘But I did get you out from that place, what would you be doing otherwise’, – whatever was coming out of his mouth – he sounded to himself as such a saviour, such a great person, so much boosting and stroking own ego. Geez. That was quite disturbing all in all.” – I was going on.

“Drama queen much?” – She said.

I gave her a nod.

“Absolutely. He just made me feel like I need to gtfo and fast. Like, he kept becoming jittery even more, making me feel even more uneasy. And that was really annoying. Really. It was like – walking on egg shells around a human who had issues and could just say some dumb shit, or do some dumb shit, as if provoked so. He literally has a lot of pent-up anger to the point of getting closer to a short fuse that will blow at some point.” – I let out.

“But I did the whole other thing – he expected me to worry, maybe to even be all up in his graces or something, but instead I just went about in the outside and looked a lot at the nature. I was all about how there’s the beauty of the world around me, how there’s magic out there. And that magic is what made me even more charmed by what the world is. Whilst I was observing him being all in this shit.” – I said.

She kept on watching me, now more puzzled at what I was on about.

“So you just rubbed in his face the whole system of ‘yeah, thanks, but nah, thanks’.” – She spoke with hellish confidence.

“Yeah, that sounds about right. And he was not happy about it.” – I added. – “But all that – well, there was like – a moment of finding four and five leave clovers, enjoying the sea and the rain, enjoying how the humans are humans, as I Was observing them – it was magical.”

We sat there exchanging the magic that was coursing through us, sharing observations and the positive bits about the life that we got to enjoy. Then we walked a bit, enjoying the rest of the day, as we got coffee, then sat in the park field, talked about poetry and aesthetics. It was a great time together. A repose after a turbulent set of events.

Leave a comment